12 Hours and Twenty Dollars in Dubai

My flight landed at about 7:30pm. Getting out of the airport was quick and easy. I changed 20 dollars into 70 AED, caught the shuttle to my hotel, checked in, dropped my bags off in my room, and caught a complimentary buffet dinner in the hotel restaurant. The dinner was pretty darn good and the dessert was even better. By about 10:00pm I was ready to hit the city. 

image After making a few inquiries I learned that the GGICO train station was right behind the hotel, it would cost me 8 AED, and it would take about 20 minutes to get to the Dubai Mall train station. Since the last train back to the hotel leaves the Dubai Mall station at 11:20pm, I wasn’t left with much time at all. Nonetheless, I decided that even if I was only there for less than an hour it would be worth it, so off I went. I purchased my one-way train ticket, swiped in through the access gates and then tossed the used card back in my bag. I arrived at the Dubai Mall and tried to exit through the access gates, but the gates wouldn’t open. I looked to my right and observed a gentleman use his metro card to swipe out of the station, but my card was lost somewhere in my hand bag, so I backtracked to a quiet corner of the station, searched for my card, and then finally swiped out of the station. image image I followed the signs to the Dubai Mall. They took me to a catwalk with moving walkways on either side. I estimated that the entire length of the walk had to be about one mile. I walked on the moving walkways the entire time, but it still took me approximately 15 minutes to reach the mall. image

image

It didn’t take me long to get suckered into a tourist trap. I came out with three beautiful handmade dishes that were made in…Turkey. Yes, I know, I went to Dubai to purchase souvenirs from Turkey, but, to my defense, they were gorgeous. The asking price was 20 AED each, but I only had 62 AED left after buying my train ticket and I needed 8 AED to get home, so I told the attendant that I wanted 3 dishes, but only had 50 AED. She said “No Problem” and I walked out with my loot in hand. image I wandered the mall for another 15 minutes. Once I saw just how massive it was I decided that there was no point looking around. I was better off being safe and heading back to the train station. I didn’t get very many pictures of the outdoors because it was dark and also, ever since stepping foot in the GGICO station I was indoors the whole way into the mall and back. I got back to my hotel safely at about 11:20pm and turned in for the night. image image P.S. The hotel room was great except for one event. I woke up in the middle of the night because I was freezing. I raised the thermostat to a higher temperature and then turned down the fan. Immediately upon doing so, the thermostat started sparking and a thick smoke began to rise from the unit. I immediately put the AC back on full blast, which seemed to solve the problem. I went back to my icy bed and devised an escape plan in case the thermostat decided to burst into flames while I slept. It was a cold, cold night… image

4 thoughts on “12 Hours and Twenty Dollars in Dubai

Leave a Reply

