En Route to Dubai

I am currently suspended in the air somewhere halfway between Boston and Dubai. From the inside of my cabin I could swear it is nighttime, but it is actually broad daylight. So far, this has been my most enjoyable flight experience to date. This is my first time flying Emirates and if I can help it I will be flying emirates exclusively from now on.

I purchased my one-way plane ticket through Emirates primarily because it was the cheapest ticket, but I was also eager to see a bit of Dubai. The check-in attendant was extremely accommodating. I had two overweight bags and she went above and beyond to make sure I had a good experience during check-in. I did have to pay a little extra for my heavy baggage, but I was certainly treated very well. My itinerary includes a 12 hour layover in Dubai, UAE before I continue on to Accra, Ghana. Emirates has graciously provided a hotel voucher for my long layover. I will be arriving in Dubai at 7:30pm and leaving at 7:30am, however, I am bent on exploring Dubai even if it means that I only get a few hours of sleep. There will be plenty of time to sleep in Ghana.

When it comes to flying sometimes it is the little things that make a big difference. For starters, upon embarking on the plane I was given a stylish little pouch that contains a toothbrush, toothpaste, a mask, and socks. This used to be the norm during international travel, but these days airlines don’t typically give out these convenient kits. In the bathroom there is a dispenser for lotion and perfume. My hands always get very dry when traveling and especially right after I wash my hands. The lotion has a pleasant smell, but I did not try the perfume. As far as in flight entertainment goes there is a huge selection of movies in many different languages. Many of the movies are fairly new and some are still in theatres. The flight attendants frequently carry trays of water down the aisles. They certainly do a good job keeping us well hydrated and fed. The meals are all tasty. In between meals there is a spread of fruits and candy bars as well as water and different juices laid out in the back of the plane. This is where I met the crew.

I had a great time meeting the flight crew. They are a group of young, friendly people who love good conversation. This is what every flight crew should be like. They came from many different corners of the world: Britain, France, Poland, and UAE to name a few. They had a healthy curiosity about where I came from and where I was headed. They were able to give me tips and advice about making the best of my layover so that I can have a great experience Dubai. Their suggestion was to take the train, not the taxi, to the world’s largest building where I will be able to enjoy a water show. They also suggested going to the mall of Dubai where I will be able to explore the aquarium. I definitely wanted to check out the souks, but I was advised against it mainly because of my late arrival time, but also because it may be difficult to haggle well enough to get a good price, since I am not familiar with the local prices.

I am excited to take some great images of Dubai and also to experience some of the local culture. I hope that I will be able to go to the old souk, but I’m starting to think that maybe I should play it safe and stick with the more commercial side of town.

P.S. I am so proud of Nigeria for their successful elections. On May 29 there will be a transition of power to the new administration. I am praying for a smooth transition and I hope to see positive, progressive changes by Muhammadu Buhari’s administration.

14156841825_f38d5e307e_z
Photo Credit Christian Junker CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
Leave a Reply

